Fast delivery
Secure through SSL
Hotline: +49 (0) 30 5524 0162

Teff

Tiny grains, unique flavor and a whole bandwidth of healthy nutrients – all this is Teff, also known as lovegrass, from Ethiopia. Teff in all its forms is becoming increasingly popular amongst health-conscious individuals. Reason for this is not only its great flavor, but also the fact that it provides a gluten-free alternative to many common grains and cereals.

Our Teff products

Teff seeds have a delicious, slightly nutty flavor and provide a pleasant consistency and many health benefits to your diet. In particular the valuable plant protein with eight different amino acids is in high demand. When preparing Teff there are no limitations to your creativity. Whether raw, sprouted, cooked or baked, whether salty or sweet – Teff seeds are a great fit for almost any meal.

Buy product

Where does our Teff come from?

Our Teff seeds come from Ethiopia, the cradle of Teff. Teff is one of the oldest cultivated grains in the world. Historians date back the first cultivation of Teff to approximately 4000 BC . In Ethiopia Teff is a staple food – In particular it is used to make the Ethiopian flatbread Injera. Injera has a soft, spongy texture and can cover the entire dining table. The bread is covered with various meat and vegetable stews and eaten in a group.

Anbau Teff

Cultivation Teff

Teff Ernte

Teff harvest

Beginning 2006 Ethiopia passed a ban on the export of all Teff seeds. The government had observed the development of Quinoa in Peru with great concern. Quinoa had traditionally been a staple food in Peru – but after it became popular on the international market, it was not attractive for producers to sell on the local market any longer and the prices increased exponentially. As a consequence many Peruvians could no longer afford one of their traditional foods. Ethiopia wanted to avoid a similar development. Now it can be observed that Teff is increasingly cultivated in other countries, paving its path into the local market – unfortunately without any Ethiopian participation. Our producer has received a rare special permit from the Ethiopian state to allow the export of unprocessed Teff seeds. To receive this permit it was important to demonstrate the sustainable cultivation, trade and use of the Teff seeds. This way Ethiopia is able to participate in the trade of Teff seeds and not become the victims of its own well-intended policy.

Kostenloser Versand ab 30€
Sicher durch SSL
Hotline: +49 (0) 30 5524 0162

Teff

Winzige Körner, einzigartiger Geschmack und eine ganze Bandbreite an gesunden Inhaltsstoffen – das alles verbirgt sich hinter der sogenannten Zwerghirse, besser bekannt als Teff, aus Äthiopien. Teff erfreut sich in seinen verschiedenen Ausführungen immer größerer Beliebtheit bei gesundheitsbewussten Menschen. Grund dafür ist nicht nur der leckere Geschmack, sondern auch die Tatsache, dass es eine glutenfreie Alternative zu den herkömmlichen Getreidearten darstellt.

Unsere Teff Produkte

Teffsamen haben einen leckeren leicht nussigen Geschmack, eine angenehme Konsistenz und viele gesundheitliche Vorzüge. Vor allem das wertvolle pflanzliche Protein mit insgesamt 8 verschiedenen Aminosäuren ist sehr nachgefragt. Bei der Zubereitung sind der Kreativität keine Grenzen gesetzt. Ob roh, gekeimt, gekocht oder gebacken, ob salzig oder süß – Teffsamen passen zu fast jeder Mahlzeit.

Produkt kaufen

Woher stammt unser Teff?

Unsere Teffsamen kommen aus Äthiopien, der Wiege des Teffs. Teff gilt als eine der ältesten angebauten Getreidesorten der Welt. Historiker datieren den ersten Anbau auf circa 4000 Jahre v. Chr . In Äthiopien ist Teff Grundnahrungsmittel. Vor allem wird es für die Herstellung des äthiopischen Fladenbrots Injera genutzt. Injera wird in gemeinsamer Runde gegessen, bedeckt traditionell den gesamten Esstisch und wird mit verschiedenen Eintöpfen und Gemüsesorten serviert. Es ist für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei!

Anbau Teff

Anbau Teff

Teff Ernte

Teff Ernte

Anfang 2006 wurde in Äthiopien ein Exportverbot auf Teffsamen ausgesprochen. Man hatte mit großer Sorge die Entwicklung von Quinoa beobachtet. Quinoa ist historisch als Grundnahrungsmittel in Peru etabliert. Nachdem es zum Erfolgsschlager im internationalen Markt wurde, war es für Produzenten jedoch nicht mehr attraktiv, im lokalen Markt zu verkaufen, und die Preise stiegen extrem an. So konnten sich viele Peruaner ihr eigenes Grundnahrungsmittel nicht mehr leisten. Äthiopien wollte eine ähnliche Entwicklung vermeiden. Nun ist immer mehr zu beobachten, dass Teff in anderen Ländern angebaut wird und so in den internationalen Markt kommt – leider ohne äthiopische Beteiligung. Unserem Produzenten ist eine seltene Sondererlaubnis vom äthiopischen Staat ausgesprochen worden, die den Export der Teffsamen ermöglicht. Um diese zu erhalten, war es entscheidend, den nachhaltigen Anbau, Handel und die Nutzung der Teffsamen darzustellen. So kann Äthiopien am Export seiner Teffsamen verdienen, ohne dass die lokale Bevölkerung zu Leidtragenden dieser Entwicklung wird.